Privacy Policy

Contact DetailsTimothy M Crookall MHK

Address: Legislative Buildings, Finch Road, Douglas, IM1 3PW

Tel: 01624 651514

Email: tim.crookall@gov.im

Address as: Mr Crookall

Full title: Mr Tim Crookall MLC


Born: 1960, England

Parents: Pauline and Michael Nixon

Education: Ballakermeen High School and Gosfield School, Essex

Family: Married to Carol 1986, 4 children; Benjamin, Joseph, Max and Breeshey

Career: Police followed by a short term in the Army, Nursing Assistant at Ballamona, Deputy Manager at the Aquadrome, Building, Residential Care Worker and a Postman

Public Service: Former crew Member of Peel Lifeboat from 1987; Committee Member: Arthritis Care Ellan Vannin; Committee Chairman: Special Olympics Isle of Man

Honours and Decorations: Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal 2002, Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal 2012

Interests: Family, Sport, and DIY

Parliamentary Profile

Current Posts 

Member of the Legislative Council 2015-2020
Member of the Department for Enterprise (formerly Economic Development) 2016-2020
Member of the CPA Isle of Man Branch Executive Committee 2010-date
Vice-Chair of the Public Accounts Committee 2016-date
Vice-Chair of the Manx Utilities Authority 2016-date
Member of the Select Committee on the Business and Functioning of the Council 2019-date

Parliamentary Career 

Minister: Community, Culture and Leisure retaining responsibility for public transport and the Villa Marina and Gaiety Theatre 2011-12; Education and Children 2012-2016

Member: Home Affairs 2006-09, Transport 2006-09, Local Government and the Environment 2009-10, Infrastructure 2010-11, Environment, Food and Agriculture 2010-11

Chairman: Isle of Man Water Authority 2009-10, Isle of Man Water and Sewerage Authority 2010-11

Vice Chairman: Office of Fair Trading 2007-09

Tynwald Committees: Select Committee for Legal Aid in Family Matters (Petition for Redress of Grievance of Stephen Broad) 2009-10, Constitutional Matters 2007-11, Economic Initiatives 2007-11, Tynwald Standards and Members’ Interests Committee 2006-15, Emoluments Committee 2006-15; Member of the Select Committee on Public Service Broadcasting (2018) 2018-2019; Chairman of the Select Committee on the Code of Conduct for Public Servants (Petition for Redress) 2019-2020.

House of Keys Committees: Standing Orders 2006-11, House of Keys Management and Members’ Standards Committee 2006-15

Council of Ministers’ Committees: Water Rates Working Group 2009-10, Retail Policy Working Group 2010-11, Police Advisory Group 2006-2011

Electoral History

First stood in 1996 and was elected as Member of the House of Keys for Peel in 2006, re-elected in 2011. Elected as a Member of the Legislative Council in June 2015 for a term ending on 29th February 2020.

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

Member: Isle Man Branch Executive Committee 2006-date

Study Visits: Westminster, London 2007; Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh 2007; Aid Conference, United Kingdom 2008; Jersey 2019.

Post Election Seminar: St Helena 2013

Regional Conferences: Belfast 2007, Gibraltar 2008

Plenary Conference: Arusha, Tanzania 2009

British Isles & Mediterranean Regional Conference: Cyprus 2015, Jersey 2016

Member's Interests