Navigate Up

The Isle of Man Parliamentary System

Expressed simply politics is about how the place we live is run and democracy is how we decide who will run it.

The Isle of Man is a parliamentary democracy: the members of the House of Keys (MHKs) are voted into power by the people, to act in the interests of the people. Every citizen aged 16 or older has the right to vote, as long as their name is on the electoral register.Image of three aspects of exterior of the Tynwald precincts

The Isle of Man has the world’s only fully functioning tricameral parliament. Tricameral refers to the three Chambers: Tynwald Court, the House of Keys, and the Legislative Council. Each Chamber has a different composition and functions.

The meetings of the Chambers are called sittings. These take place in Legislative Buildings on Bucks Road. The flags are flown to show that a sitting is taking place.

Sittings are open to the public who may watch from the galleries located in each Chamber. Rules of conduct apply. The parliamentary session runs from mid-October until mid-July with a recess at Christmas and Easter. Details of the sitting dates can be found here.