Social Affairs Policy Review Committee Members

Mrs C A Corlett MHK 

Committee Chair

Mrs D H Caine

Committee Member

Mr T S Glover

Committee Member



1 - 10Next


Contact the Committee

For enquiries or to submit written evidence please contact:

Ms Joann Corkish 
Clerk to the Committee
Legislative Buildings
Finch Road
Isle of Man
Tel: 01624 685500

The Committee reserves the right to publish any evidence sent to it in the absence of any agreement that the evidence will be confidential.

Committee Remit

Tynwald Standing Orders

There shall be three Policy Review Committees which shall be Standing Committees of the Court. Subject to Standing Order 5.6(3) they may scrutinise the established (but not emergent) policies, as deemed necessary by each Committee, of the Departments and Offices indicated in this paragraph together with the associated Statutory Boards and other bodies:

Social Affairs Committee: Department of Health and Social Care; Department of Education, Sport and Culture; and Department of Home Affairs.

Each Policy Review Committee shall in addition be entitled to take evidence from witnesses, whether representing a Department, Office, Statutory Board or other organisation within its remit or not, in cases where the subject
matter cuts across different areas of responsibility of different Departments, Offices, Statutory Boards or other organisations. The Policy Review Committees may also hold joint sittings for deliberative purposes or to take evidence. The Chairmen of the Policy Review Committees shall agree on the scope of a Policy Review Committee’s inquiry where the subject cuts across the respective boundaries of the Policy Review Committees’ remits.

Each Policy Review Committee shall have:
(a) a Chairman elected by Tynwald,
(b) two other Members.

Members of Tynwald shall not be eligible for membership of the Committee, if, for the time being, they hold any of the following offices: President of Tynwald, member of the Council of Ministers, member of the Treasury Department referred to in section 1(2)(b) of the Government Departments Act 1987.

The Policy Review Committees shall be authorised to require the attendance of Ministers for the purpose of assisting the Committee (or Committees, if sitting jointly).

Should the need arise in relation to a particular matter, such as a conflict of interest, Tynwald may elect an alternate member for the purpose and duration of a Policy Review Committee’s consideration of that matter. A conflicted member so replaced shall continue to serve as a member of the Committee for all other purposes.