Select Committee on Poverty 2021 Committee Members

​The Hon J P Watterson SHK

Committee Chair

Miss T August-Hanson MLC

Committee Member

Mr R Callister MHK

Committee Member

Ms J Faragher MHK

Committee Member

Mrs S Maltby MHK

Committee Member



New Committee: Tynwald 16 Nov 2021 - Select Committee formed. Mr Speaker, Miss August-Hanson MLC, Mr Callister MHK, Ms Faragher MHK, Mrs Maltby MHK elected to the Committee. 


Contact the Committee

For enquiries or to submit written evidence please contact:

Clerk to the Committee
Legislative Buildings
Finch Road
Isle of Man
Tel: 01624 685500

The Committee reserves the right to publish any evidence sent to it in the absence of any agreement that the evidence will be confidential.

Committee Remit

That Tynwald –

a) recognises the existence of relative poverty on our Island, and the struggle of those on low incomes;

b) recognises the debilitating impact it has on individuals, families and society; 

c) accepts that this is often a complex problem that cuts across many different Government Departments, the third sector and personal responsibility;

d) appoints a Select Committee of five members:

i. to investigate definitions of poverty based on different circumstances; 

ii. to investigate the underlying causes of poverty and how people have ended up in poverty;

iii. to assess the policies, programmes and measures in place by Government and others to tackle poverty;

and iv. to publish at least one interim report to Tynwald per year and a final report with recommendations; 

and e) gives the new Committee access to all of the papers of​ the Select Committee of Tynwald on Poverty established on 17th April 2018.​