Select Committee on the Funding of Nursing and Residential Care Members




Mr C R Robertshaw MHK

Committee Chair

Mr P Karran MHK

Committee Member

Mr J P Watterson MHK

Committee Member




Contact the Committee

For enquiries or to submit written evidence please contact:

Mr Jonathan King
Clerk to the Committee
Legislative Buildings
Finch Road
Isle of Man
Tel: 01624 685500

The Committee reserves the right to publish any evidence sent to it in the absence of any agreement that the evidence will be confidential.

Committee Remit

That Tynwald views with concern the provision for care for the elderly in the future, in the light of the expected demographic changes in the Island's population; and that a Select Committee of three members be appointed, with powers to take written and oral evidence pursuant to sections 3 and 4 of the Tynwald Proceedings Act 1876, to investigate the feasibility of introducing a dedicated compulsory contribution scheme for those under a certain age, in order to build a fund to provide for the future costs of their long term care in nursing homes and other residential accommodation whether by reason of age or other incapacity; and to report by July 2016.