Navigate Up

Two Vacancies on the Legislative Council

Two vacancies have arisen on the Legislative Council, for a term of office ending on 28th February 2023, as a result of Ms Kate Lord-Brennan and Mrs Poole-Wilson resigning their seats on that Branch. Their resignations took effect when they were elected to the House of Keys on 23rd September 2021.

The Speaker of the House of Keys, the Hon Juan Watterson SHK, has determined under Standing Orders that an election will be the first item of business at the sitting of the House of Keys at 10.00 on Tuesday, 23rd November 2021, with nominations opening today, Monday 4th October 2021, and closing at 12 noon on Thursday 4th November 2021.

The President of Tynwald, the Hon Laurence Skelly MLC, has been tasked by Tynwald with encouraging a wide variety of candidates to come forward for this election and to make the process as accessible as possible. He said:

“Tynwald should be representative of the community it serves. Legislative Council is elected by the House of Keys not the Island’s electorate, nevertheless it should reflect as far as possible the different groups which make up the population of the Isle of Man. The Legislative Council has previously led the way in beginning to increase diversity and once again participation by candidates who are not already known to Members of Tynwald or who otherwise might feel less able to put themselves forward is encouraged.

Ultimately it is up to the House of Keys to elect the best people for the job. For my part, I want to ensure that MHKs have the broadest possible range of candidates to choose from, and will be happy to speak to anyone who wishes to find out more about any aspect of the role.”

Mr Speaker added:

“Members of the Legislative Council who, unlike the House of Keys, do not have specific constituency responsibilities, undertake an important role in our unique parliamentary system; work includes scrutiny of legislation and Government, taking part in debates in Legislative Council and Tynwald and often work in Government Departments and on parliamentary committees. These vacancies have been created following the election of two former MLCs to the House of Keys, a strong endorsement of the contribution both individuals made to the work of Tynwald. I know that the Keys will be seeking a strong field from which to select two new Members to play an active part in shaping the future of our Island.”

Further particulars of the role together with information on how to stand for election and contact details for the President of Tynwald may be found on the Tynwald website by following this link.​

For further information contact: 
Jo Corkish
Deputy Clerk of Tynwald 
Legislative Buildings, Douglas, IM1 3PW
Tel: 01624 685500
Published - 04/10/2021