Navigate Up

Legislative Council - newly elected Members

The House of Keys has elected four Members to serve on the Legislative Council until 25th February 2025.

The election was decided on 12th March 2020 in a single round of voting in which Mrs Kerry Sharpe received 19 votes; Mr Bill Henderson received 15 votes; Mr Peter Greenhill received 14 votes; and  Mr Robert Mercer received 13 votes.

The Speaker of the House of Keys, the Hon Juan Watterson SHK said:

“It is my great pleasure to congratulate the new Members of the Legislative Council. It was gratifying to see a full public gallery and a wide array of candidates, as Tynwald hoped for when reviewing the functioning of Tynwald.”

This was the third election to be run under the new system adopted by the Keys on 4th April 2017. Further information about the vacancy and the election process can be found here and the full text of the amended House of Keys Standings Orders, incorporating a guidance note by the Speaker on the election process, can be viewed here.

The Hansard record for the election sitting, which includes a full list of which Members of the House of Keys voted in favour of each candidate, is available here:

The numbers of votes received by all the candidates are set out in the following table.

Mrs Kerry Sharpe


Mr Bill Henderson


Mr Peter Greenhill


Mr Robert Mercer


Mr Zahed Miah


Dr Michelle Haywood


Mrs Carole Lillywhite


Mrs Danielle Bell


Ms Haafizah Hoosen


Note for editors: As has been the case since the adoption in April 2017 of the present system, the press gallery is closed for operational reasons during elections to the Legislative Council.

For further information contact:

Jonathan King
Deputy Clerk of Tynwald
Legislative Buildings
Tel: 01624 685500

Published - 12/03/2020