Navigate Up

General Election Committee – Oral Evidence

​The Select Committee on the Organization and Operation of the General Election intends to hear oral evidence in public at 10.30am on Friday 9th December 2016 and Thursday 12th January 2017.

On Friday 9th December 2016 evidence will be given by the following persons at the times shown:

10:30 Peter Kelly CP

11:10 Steve Crowther

12:30 Tim Baker MHK

13:10 Andrew Barton


On Thursday 12th January 2017, evidence will be given by the following persons at the times shown:

10:30 A G Cowie, Chairman and Peter Whiteway, Clerk, Ramsey Town Commissioners

11:10 Paul Cowin, Assistant Town Clerk, Douglas Borough Council

11:50 The Speaker of the House of Keys, the Hon Juan Watterson SHK

14:20 Louise Whitelegg

15:00 Juan Moore, CEO, Isle of Man Law Society

16:00 Will Greenhow, Chief Secretary, Della Fletcher, Director of External Relations and Kirsty Hemsley, Senior External Relations Officer


The evidence will be heard in public in the Legislative Council Chamber, Legislative Buildings, Bucks Road, Douglas. Members of the public are welcome to attend or to listen via the audio webcast service here.

The Committee was established by Tynwald on Tuesday 18th October 2016 with a remit to consider all aspects of the organization and operation of the General Election 2016; and to make recommendations for future practice in elections to the House of Keys; and to report no later than the April 2017 sitting of Tynwald.

The members elected to the Committee by Tynwald are Mr David Ashford MHK, Miss Clare Bettison MHK, Mrs Daphne Caine MHK, Mr David Cretney MLC and Mr Martyn Perkins MHK. The Committee has elected Mr David Cretney as its Chair.


For further information contact:
Jonathan King
Deputy Clerk of Tynwald
Legislative Buildings, Douglas, IM1 3PW
Telephone: 01624 686303

Published - 05/12/2016