Navigate Up

Public Service Broadcasting: Further Oral Evidence Hearing

The Select Committee of Tynwald on Public Service Broadcasting intends to take oral evidence in public on Monday 25th November 2013at 10.30am in the Legislative Council Chamber. The witnesses on this occasion will be:

Mr Ron Berry (Three FM)

Mr Paul Moulton (PMC-TV Ltd)

Hon Juan P Watterson MHK (Chairman, the Communications Commission)

Dr Carmel McLaughlin (Director, the Communications Commission)

It was resolved on 11th December 2012 –

That Tynwald receives the Treasury Report on Public Broadcasting Subvention of July 2012 [GD 0034/12]; and –

(a) reaffirms its commitment to public service broadcasting in the Isle of Man;

(b) recognizes Manx Radio as the Isle of Man’s national broadcaster; and

(c) appoints a Select Committee of three Members with powers to take written and oral evidence under Sections 3 and 4 of the Tynwald Proceedings Act 1876, as amended, to examine the matter of the policy, delivery, cost and scope of Public Service Broadcasting; and report with recommendations.

The Members elected to the Committee were Mr Zac Hall MHK, Mr Richard Ronan MHK and the Hon Steve Rodan SHK. The Committee has elected Mr Ronan as its chairman.

Oral evidence was heard on 23rd May from Manx Radio; on 20th June from Mr Chris Corlett (DED), Mr Clive McGreal (Treasury), and Mrs Caroline Convery and Mr Chris Tunley (Radio Manx Limited Purpose Trust); and on 12th July 2013 from Sally-Ann Wilson (Commonwealth Broadcasting Association). Transcripts are available via the Committee’s website here.


For further information contact:

Committee Secretariat

Legislative Buildings, Douglas, IM1 3PW

Tel: 01624 685500

Published - 19/11/2013