Navigate Up



Charles Geoffrey CORKISH MBE MLC 

Contact DetailsGeoffrey C Corkish MHK

Address: Legislative Buildings, Finch Road, Douglas, IM1 3PW

Tel: 01624 651528


Address as: Mr Corkish

Full title: Mr Geoff Corkish MBE MLC


Born: 1953

Education: Douglas High School for Boys

Family: Married to Muriel, 1 son and 1 daughter, 1 grand daughter

Career: Isle of Man Steam Packet Company Limited 1969-2006

Public Service: President: Isle of Man Anti-Cancer Association; Vice President: Glenfaba Chorale; Chairman: Douglas Buxton Music Trust; Former Treasurer: Isle of Man Church Music Association, Skal Association (twice President); Trustee: The Mersey Mission for Seafarers; Director: IOM Festival of Choirs; Patron: Isle of Man Chinese Association

Honours and Decorations: MBE 2007

Interests: Music/singing (Cleveland Gold Medallist at Manx Music Festival 1983), Lon Dhoo Male Voice Choir, Chorister All Saints Church

Parliamentary Profile

Current Posts

Member of the Legislative Council 2013-date
Member of the Department of Education, Sport and Culture (formerly Education and Children) 2014 - date
Chairman of the IOM Arts Council 2011-date
Vice-Chairman of the Office of Fair Trading 2015-date
Vice-Chair of Culture Vannin 2016-date
Member of the Standing Orders Committee of the Legislative Council 2013-date
Member of the CPA Isle of Man Branch Executive Committee 2016-date
Member of the Tynwald Honours Committee 2010-date
Member of the Tynwald Standing Orders Committee 2015-date
Member of the Ecclesiastical Committee 2011-date
Member of the Tynwald Advisory Council for Disabilities 2016-date

Parliamentary Career

Member of the House of Keys 2006-13
Deputy Speaker of the House of Keys 2011-13

Trade and Industry 2006-07, Tourism and Leisure 2006-10, Manx Electricity Authority 2007-09,
Transport 2009-10, Economic Development 2010-13, Community, Culture and Leisure 2013-14, Infrastructure 2015-16

Chairman: Environmental and Infrastructure Policy Review Committee 2011-12, Isle of Man Post Office 2011-14; Tynwald Advisory Council for Disabilities 2015-2016

Vice-Chairman: Isle of Man Post Office 2007-11, Tynwald Advisory Council for Disabilities 2007-15, Public Accounts Committee 2012-16

Committees of Tynwald: Economic Initiatives 2007-11, Select Committee on Towed Caravans 2014, Tynwald Management Committee 2007-16, Select Committee of the Legislative Council on the Highways (Amendment) Bill 2015 2015-2016

Council of Ministers’ Committees: Queen’s Pier Ramsey 2007-09, Retail Policy Working Group 2010, Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Working Group 2009-11, Social Policy 2007-11

Member: Culture Vannin (Manx Heritage Foundation) 2014-2016.

Electoral History

First stood and elected as a Member of the House of Keys for Douglas West in 2006, re-elected in 2011. Elected as a Member of the Legislative Council in March 2013 to serve for a term ending 28th February 2018

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

Member: Isle of Man Branch Executive Committee 2015-date

Study Visits: Westminster, London 2007; Westminster Seminar, London 2008; Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh 2013

Plenary Conference: India 2007

Member's Interests