Navigate Up

Poverty Committee seeks further views

​The Tynwald Select Committee on Poverty recently held a workshop for Tynwald Members to provide an opportunity for them to discuss various topics relating to poverty with representatives from the Isle of Man Government and the third sector.

Rob Callister MHK, said: “As an MHK trying to build up a firm opinion on the term ‘Poverty’ here in the Isle of Man, I was extremely grateful for the Tynwald Select Committee workshop.

The format for the workshop was something completely different from usual presentations, a bit like ‘speed dating’ whereby Tynwald Members were given 15 minutes to ask questions, but more importantly simply to listen to the challenges facing various third sector charities here on the Isle of Man, including Housing Matters, Foodbank, Graih, along with various Government Departments such as DOI (Housing), DHSC, the Treasury, Children & Families Service and the IOM Prison Service.

The workshop certainly identified several reoccurring themes and I am looking forward to receiving the Committee’s report in due course.”

Clare Bettison MHK said: “This was an excellent opportunity for politicians, government departments and third sector representatives to work through some of the key components and contributors to poverty and try to assess the bigger picture. From this we were able to tease out further themes and areas where Government can make the lives of our constituents easier and improve outcomes related to poverty.”

The Committee’s first report will cover the first part of its remit; investigating the definitions of poverty based on different circumstances. It will also provide a framework for the specific themes the Committee will consider as its inquiry progresses.

Following an initial call for evidence the Committee is still keen to hear from people who would like to contact the Committee about any aspect of its work. Today (Wednesday) the Committee will be visiting Waverley House in Ramsey and IOM Prison.

Written submissions should be sent to the address below. Please note that Committees may publish evidence but submissions will be treated in confidence if this is requested, provided contact details are included. Alternatively, if you would like to speak with the Committee in private, please contact the Committee Clerk using the contact details below.

The members of the Select Committee on Poverty, appointed by Tynwald, are The Hon. Juan Watterson SHK (Chair), Miss Tanya August-Hanson MLC and Mr Jason Moorhouse MHK. Further information on the Committee can be found here:

To make a submission or for further information contact:
Committee Secretariat
Legislative Buildings
Finch Road, Douglas
Isle of Man, IM1 3PW
Tel: 01624 685500
30th January 2019
Published - 30/01/2019